Turkey Day!

Hello, hello! It’s been a while — eep! I don’t even remember what day I posted last on? Was it on Wednesday? Well…I hope. πŸ™‚ I hope everyone who celebrated Thanksgiving this past Thursday had a wonderful day filled with family, friends and good eats!!

I had a wonderful holiday. We had company here (hence my lack of updating). It was hectic but in the best possible way. My aunt, my uncle, and my cousin and their dog, Dolce, came down on Wednesday night. It was a grand experiment of exposing our dog to their dog for the first time. Though it was tense at first they eventually coexisted peacefully. They weren’t BFFs or anything…but there was no bloodshed, and that’s all one can ask for on the holidays, right? haha

An example of them coexisting peacefully:

(My pup, you’ve seen pics of before, is the lab and their dog is a little rat terrier)

On Thursday, my other cousin arrived with her boyfriend, and we enjoyed lots of good eats, lots of football, Home Alone and the James Bond marathon on Syfy. haha We enjoyed turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, creamed onions, squash, cranberry sauce, zucchini “casserole” and cornbread for dinner. Unfortunately, I did not get pictures of everything. In the excitement I misplaced my camera for a while, and by the time I found it the bird had been carved and the food have been ravaged. haha I was able to get some pictures of our little appetizers before hand (spinach squares! Mom’s recipe, yum!!) and dessert! haha

These are my mom’s spinach squares. They are delicious (warm and at room temp!) and they always go fast!

Here’s my aunt’s squash! I believe this is the only picture of our main meal. haha

IΒ  also had some of my favorite cranberry gingerale.

We ate our main meal early in the day so we got in a good bit of rest before digging into dessert. πŸ™‚ Obviously, my favorite part of Thanksgiving…hahaha

My mom’s ο»Ώchocolate chess pie. It is sooo rich, but so good!

My aunt made a “pumpkin crisp.”

And of course, we had sugar cookies with lemon frosting. They weren’t cut into turkeys this year *much easier* haha…but they, of course, were just as delicious!

The weather has been pretty crummy, so much of this weekend was spent inside. However, it was wonderful getting to spend so much time with my family. Right now, it is ridiculous windy! My dog is currently mourning the departure of my uncle who is is absolutely enamored with. She’s sulking in the chair that he sat in the most. haha She’ll be back to herself in no time though.

I’ll leave you with another adorable pictures of the doggy cousins (that’s my brother between them haha).

I hope everyone, who celebrated, had a wonderful Thanksgiving, and that everyone else had a fabulous week!! I can’t believe it’s Saturday already… this week has gone by too quickly!!

Back to healthy eats!! haha

Peace, Love & Munchies.

4 thoughts on “Turkey Day!

  1. All that food looks SO DELICIOUS. Honestly I didn’t even know half of those dishes mentioned! I was like – what you can MAKE that? I’ll have to search around for some recipes πŸ˜‰

    Your dog sounds awesome. And she is so so so cute!

Leave a Reply

