Hummus is Yummus

Hola everyone, how are you?

Today’s been a pretty good day. I slept in…it felt glorious, as it always does. I woke up and made myself a cup of coffee and my usual yogurt mess. I knew I’d need to gear up for my day of studying ahead.

The day started out nicely…the weather went from a beautiful blue sky to grey. As much as I love gorgeous weather, I was happy to see the grey because, honestly, I’m much better at studying when beautiful weather isn’t calling to me. πŸ™‚ Just as I settled into my studies, my fire alarm started beeping…no I wasn’t burning anything. haha The battery decided to die…haha So I got up changed (because Lord knows I was a mess) and ran to CVS for the battery, and while I was out I also stopped at Trader Joe’s for some stuff that I could remember from my grocery list.

When I got back, I fixed the detector, and made myself some popcorn, and heated up my cup of coffee that I had not had the chance to finish, yet.

After that, I got down to business again. When I was ready for a break, my friend actually messaged me and asked me to do some eBay-ing for her, while she was at work. Of course, I agreed, and well, I won it for her. Oh yes, I rock. haha :-p

After that I was inspired to be creative…in the kitchen. I decided it was TIME. Time to take my new food processor out for a spin. No pun intended. haha I decided that I would make hummus.

Some of the recipe was eyeballed – but it was pretty basic.

  • 1-2 Β cloves of garlic (I’d personally go for less than the 2 next time, however)
  • 1 can of chick peas (drain and reserve the drained liquid)
  • 2-3 tablespoons of tahini
  • The juice of 1 lemon
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Hot sauce, to taste

I really like how this came out. Smooth…and no need for oil! πŸ™‚ It might be a little bit too garlicy (nothing horrible though, my cloves were just pretty big) so I might reduce the garlic a little next time. Overall, I’m really happy with how it came out!!

I chopped up the garlic prior to putting it in the food process so it would really get pulverized.

I put the garlic and the chick peas in the food processor together.

The chunktastic puree that was produced haha.

After that, I added the everything else to the mixture (tahini, lemon juice, salt, pepper and hot sauce).

I love hot sauce. πŸ™‚

The lemon graveyard.

THIS, my friends, was my finished product. Smooth, creamy, has a little kick and very yummy. Β Very happy! I cannot wait to try out new flavors and whatnot. πŸ˜€

*Oh, to add…I did add 2-3 tablespoons of the chick pea liquid to smooth it out at the end!

I based my own recipe on a recipe of Ina Garten’s which didn’t include oil. Although yes, extra virgin olive oil is good for you, I wanted to see how it would turn out without the added fat. — Result: Really good. πŸ™‚

Now, after going through all the trouble to make that hummus (okay, it was no trouble at all, it took maybe 10 minutes max, haha), I HAD to include it in dinner, right!? I baked myself up a sweet potato, and added a dollop of hummus, hot sauce (yes, more) and seasoning to that bad boy.

I also had some corn and string cheese (not pictured).

An elegant meal, right? haha

FYI – I just want to add that I do not post everything I eat…just because it would take me forever. haha

I’m off to study my booty off some more! Mon examen franΓ§ais est demain Γ  8H. Oyyy. haha (Translation: My french exam is 8am tomorrow morning.)

I hope you are doing splendidly!!!

Peace, Love & Munchies.

12 thoughts on “Hummus is Yummus

    • Yayy!! It was interesting, I actually saw a few recipes where peanut butter was used in place of tahini, and I was skeptical of the results, but after smelling (and tasting) the tahini, I could totally see the PB working as well…cheaper, too. haha

  1. Yum that hummus looks delish. I also love hot sauce! i should try making some hot sauce hummus. A few weeks ago I tried chipolte hummus and it is sooo addicting :):)

    Good luck with your exam!

    • Aww, thank you!! I’m a hot sauce freaaak. The hotter the better for me. Ooo a chipotle one sounds delicious! I have so many ideas in my head for hummus recipes now…I’ll be a pro in no time! haha πŸ™‚

    • haha helllll yeah spicy!! and thank you!! it’s a little garlicy this time around…and as long as I don’t interact with people directly after eating it — it’s alll good. haha i’ll know better next time! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

