Green Rice

Hola my beauties!

How is everyone doin?! TGIF! Although, my whole week has sorta been like an extended weekend…but I’ll celebrate the fact that it’s Friday for you guys!! … I know…I’m really takin’ a bullet there. haha 🙂

Today has been a snowtastic (not a real word…but it should exist) day! I slept WAAAAY in…mostly because I didn’t fall asleep until after 3am. I just could not sleep for the life of me. I didn’t even know what time it was when I finally decided it was time for the best restlessness cure ever. I learned this little diddy from a high school friend of mine, and it’s awesome – works like a charm. I mixed together warm (ff) milk and a little bit (not sure how much) of maple syrup…just enough to make it slightly sweet. Yummm. It’s delicious and I was OUT soon after…ohh the magic of warm milk. 🙂 I mean I know that warm milk isn’t this magical cure all for restlessness – but even if its all in my head – I was sleepin’ like a babe in no time. Though, you’ll have to excuse me for not taking pics at 3am 😉

However:

(source)

+

(source)

=

(source)

Do you do anything special when you can’t sleep?

When I woke up, I wasn’t really hungry. Perhaps it was my milk concoction at 3am? Hmm.. either way, I made myself a large cup of coffee, and sipped away on that for most of the morning.

My coffee decided to make shapes this morning. What is it? Is it the pi symbol?? Musical notes?? Oooh…Stonehenge??? hahaha Mysterious.

For lunch, I finished up a small slice of quiche (avec du jambon et du fromage [ham and cheese]). Twas delish! I also had a cheese stick (or two)… hehe

I got a little bit of yoga in via Comcast’s OnDemand. Woot! Bendiness here I come! :-p

I then decided I was hungry again, and soothed my peanut butter cravings with a couple of spoonfuls of the good stuff. …I also had another cheese stick.

Dinner was my mom’s aweeesome baked green rice. It’s a delicious baked combo of cheese (parm & part skim mozz), spinach, brown rice, eggs, milk, garlic, and onion.

Baked Green Rice

Ingredients:

  • Olive Oil
  • 4.25 Cups of Water
  • Salt to taste
  • 2 Cups of brown rice
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 Cups of milk (we use fat free)
  • 1 box of thawed and drained frozen spinach
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 small onion, minced
  • 1 Cup of grated Parmesan cheese
  • 4-6oz of Mozzarella cheese (we use part-skim)
  • Black pepper to taste

Directions:

Cook up the brown rice (using the water, salt and brown rice) until done; separately: mix together eggs, milk, pepper, garlic, onions, all of the mozzarella, all but a few tablespoons of the parmesan and spinach; fluff cooked brown rice; mix milk mixture and brown rice together (if your rice is hot, be careful to temper the mixture so that the eggs don’t scramble!) and put into casserole dish; top with extra parm and bake at 325 degrees for 45-60 minutes or until the custard is set and the top is brown.

It makes A LOT, and you could throw in so many different types of veggies or meats – or try different cheeses…like pepper jack! Yum. Plus, leftovers are delicious.

Happy weekend to everyone!!! Enjoy it! ❤

7 thoughts on “Green Rice

  1. Pingback: Won’t You Be My Neighbor « Peace, Love & Munchies

Leave a Reply

