Thoughts and Thank Yous

You know – as I was casually browsing the blogosphere last night in the midst of munching and watching some high-quality television (I lie…it was crap) – I came to the a major realization about all of us. All of YOU.

I feel so fortunate to surrounded by such strong, smart, beautiful, compassionate, talented and creative women!!

I am constantly astounded by your insights, your ideas, and your willingness to help those around you…not just willingness…your WANT to help.

It put a smile on my face to know – that though I have literally met…none of you in “real-life” – that I am surrounded by such a supportive, charitable, uplifting group of women who I am lucky enough – to in reality call friends…because you know what…somewhere along the line, in between bonding over love of peanut butter or telling the stories of our struggles…we all became friends. It’s crazy if you think about it.

I went to a fantastic seminar the other evening where a women, Vicki Donlan who is the found/CEO of Women’s Business put out by the Boston Herald here in New England, and the author of the book, “Her Turn: Why It’s Women’s Turn to Lead in America”, spoke to a room of young, college-age (and then….me…okay so I’m not really that OLD – I just feel it when asked ‘So how old are you??’ by freshman… πŸ™‚ (and a few guys were present, too!) spoke.

She gave a fabulous speech about being strong, independent, self-confident risk-takers but I think the part that stuck with me the most was what she said about sticking together and promoting one another. It’s true…women have the tendency to beat up on one another…competition and cattiness run rampant.

…however, although I know this cattiness all too well…as she was talking I just kept thinking about how this little (okay, not so little) blog community that we’ve all built and become a part of … it really encompasses all that she said about what it takes to be successful. We all support one another…and that’s not to say that people always agree, and, of course, there are the hurtful anonymous comments that filter through…but over all…this community is overwhelmingly positive and supportive.

Woman to woman…I want to say THANK YOU. Thank you to all of you – for being shining examples of what we can accomplish by standing by one another instead of standing in each other’s way.

[source]

β™₯

8 thoughts on “Thoughts and Thank Yous

  1. I couldn’t agree more with everything you’ve said in this post. I love the blogworld for the support it provides…it really is a community of wonderful women, yourself included πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful day love, you deserve it!!

  2. I totally agree πŸ™‚ I generally think it, but all the feedback on my previous post when I kind of NEEDED the support was just amazing πŸ™‚

    You definitely inspire me daily and I’m so glad I’ve gotten to “know” you πŸ™‚

    ps: funny thing: I knew right away I was going to love your blog because the first post I ever read was when you got your espresso maker πŸ˜‰

  3. Wonderful post! The blog world really is such a lovely community. Sometimes the “real world” seems so harsh, and there is such a lack of compassion and understanding that it’s sad. Sometimes it’s as if the blog world restores my faith in people, no kidding. Whenever you need support or encouragement, your fellow bloggers and readers are there for you! And sometimes they add a different perspective to things, which may not be what you want to hear, but they say it in such a kind and caring manner that you are able to take it in and think about what they said, whereas sometimes in real life it’s harder to do so. I think sometimes when you type things out, you have to think more about how your words are coming across, because the person receiving the message isn’t going to be able to hear your tone of voice, so therefore I think sometimes we are more careful in not only what we say to each other, but how we say it. I am so thankful to have found this blogging community! You guys are the best!

    Hope you have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

