Spicin' it up

Evening bloggies!! It is so unbelievably gorgeous out right now – it’s a perfect 80 degrees out at a little after 7p.m. LOVE summer. πŸ™‚ Tomorrow will be a scorchaaah (as they say haha) – 90 degrees. I got all my “heavy lifting” errands done today for that reason. Nothing is worse than dragging heavy bags around the city while sweating profusely. Not cute. haha

FIRST and foremost – I got a fun delivery over the weekend! Ryan and the folks over at POM Wonderful were kind enough to send me a case of their 100% pomegranate juice! Delicious and so good for you (we all know the amazing antioxidant power of the pom)!! The thing I love about POM Wonderful is that it really is 100%, non-importedΒ  pomegranate juice with no additives! No trickery. Plus, they grow their own fruit, pick it and squeeze it – along with making the bottles. Seriously, it is so generous of them, and I am so excited to use the juices in as many creative ways as possible!!

I was sipping my coffee when my first idea struck: POM/Vanilla oats topped with blackberry jam. Bam.

Mixture of POM, water and fat free milk

I made the oats the way I normally would – per the directions on the container – but I subbed in POM juice for some of the liquid. I also added approximately a teaspoon of vanilla extract and a little less than a packet of Truvia. These were really good – they had a little bit of a tang from the juice and the sweeter jam on top balanced it out. I will definitely be making these again.

I spent the morning being productive, and eventually got out and completed all of my errands.

Upon return though – LUNCH was the only thing on my mind. It was pretty warm out at that point so all I was craving was something cool. I ended up with some honey Greek yogurt (a la TJ’s) and some strawberries and mango.

I kept on working through the afternoon (though, you wouldn’t know by the looks of it):

I also spent it munching:

I had dinner planned out in my head…even last night I was thinking about it – and it didn’t matter what temperature it was outside…I had my heart set on some souptaco soup to be precise. My mom had made a version of this with chicken this past weekend, but I wanted to try and come up with a veggie version.

It was a success – I do have to say…no measuring occurred in the making of this soup (the joys of cooking vs. baking!) but it was pretty darn easy.

This soup contains:

  • Carton of low sodium veggie broth
  • Water (about half of the amount of broth)
  • Taco Seasoning (as much as you want…I went a little heavy handed and it’s spicccayy)
  • Salsa (1/2 cup?? I dunno) – I chose Verde
  • Corn
  • Spinach
  • Edamame
  • Black beans (rinsed) – 1 can
  • Garbanzo beans (rinsed) – 1 can

I can’t remember if there was anything else…haha. I think that was it. Super easy – super yummy. This makes a ton! and I am excited to try and use it in different ways throughout the week. Like I said though – I used almost the whole package of taco seasoning and it’s really good but spiiiiiiicy (good thing I love spicy) – I was sort of flying blind because I hadn’t actually used TJ’s taco seasoning before – but it worked out quite well. πŸ™‚

Hope everyone’s Monday went well – 1 down 4 to go! πŸ˜€

9 thoughts on “Spicin' it up

  1. Hey girl!
    First off, I love your blog! Sounds like you had a fun day and goood eats! I’ve never tried Pom in oats but it sure sounds good! with pb maybe??
    xoox

  2. Pom. Oats. I never drink juice but damn I would do that. In fact I have Pom waiting in the fridge. Guess what I’m havin for breakfast tomorrow…

  3. I love the new layout!! Tres chic πŸ™‚ Those mini Babybels were my FAVORITE when I was little, I used to save the wax and play with it forever. Kind of gross. We actually have Pom in the fridge, I need to try it in oats!! Hope you have a wonderful day love!!

  4. ahhh oh wow your spiced up and twisted together recipes look so good! have me over for a meal any time!
    Katherine

  5. Pingback: Revelation « Peace, Love & Munchies

  6. Pingback: Peace, Love & Munchies | POM Community | The Official POM Wonderful Website, makers of 100% Pomegranate Juice the Antioxidant Superpower

Leave a Reply

