Adventures in Baked Bean Making

Afternoon everyone!! As I lay on my bed and look out the window, the clouds are rolllllling in. We are supposed to get passing thundershowers this afternoon – weee! I’m a fan.  I’ve already been out and about and enjoyed a beautiful day – so I definitely do not mind a passing shower.

I started the morning with Chocolate pomegranate overnight oats topped with raspberries and granola. Yum. I have loved incorporating POM into my mornings – now I need to experiment with POM beyond my breakfast foods!

Also had my usual.

I’ve come to realize that I rarely ever finish a cup of coffee in the morning – I usually drink about half of it. Time to make smaller beverages!

Perhaps that is why a few hours later – when I was out and about (and avoiding rather large protests outside of the Scientology center) – I stopped at the ‘bucks and grabbed an iced skinny hazelnut latte. It was also hot. haha Justification.

Okay – so about the title of this post… Adventures in Baked Bean Making (which made my think of Adventures in Babysitting). Miss Jenna has posted about her homemade baked beans on a number of occasions, and each time I have found myself drawn to them. It was weird – I don’t eat baked beans…at least not the canned kind which are the only kind I’ve ever been exposed to. They’re always too sweet or just piles of mush.

However, Jenna’s were different.

They were tomato based, not too sweet and I pretty much loved every ingredient on the list. Plus, her photos of them were mouth-watering.

She posted them again this past Thursday – and I decided it was time for me to make them.

Homemade Baked Beans – recipe courtesy of Jenna @ Eat, Live, Run.

To serve 4:

  • 1/2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 of a large yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp ketchup
  • 1 tsp ground mustard
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tsp hot sauce (I may have added a little bit more 😛 )
  • 8 oz tomato sauce
  • 1 15 oz can cannelloni beans, drained and rinsed

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. In a cast iron skillet or non-stick skillet, heat the olive oil. Add the onions and sauté for about five minutes or until soft and translucent.
3. Add the garlic and sauté 30 seconds more.
4. Add the maple syrup, tomato sauce, salt, ground mustard, hot sauce and ketchup and simmer for five minutes.
5. Add the beans and bay leaf, stir, then cover the skillet with aluminum foil and bake for 45 minutes, stirring once during the baking process.
6. Allow to cool and serve warm.

Super easy and delicious!!!

Steps 2, 3 & 4 - Delicious sauce!

Added the beans and bay leaf - just before covering with foil and sticking in the oven

The finished product

These made my apartment smell absolutely amazing while they baked – and I probably could have eaten all four servings at once. Restraint, Jil. Restraint.

I am packing this up and bringing it to my mom’s for her and my bro to try! Next time I make these (which I’m sure will be soon!), I’m going to double the batch.

Hope you all are enjoying your weekends!!

8 thoughts on “Adventures in Baked Bean Making

  1. Pingback: Best Cheap Bean Bag Online By Hotlowprice.com ! » Blog Archiv » Alex Toys Monster Toss Bean Bag Game

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Adventures in Baked Bean Making « Peace, Love & Munchies -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

