Alarming

Well…it was a good run…. Unfortunately, all good things must come to an end.

…oh! Nooononono, it’s not the blog – but…I set my fire alarm off tonight. haha

If you follow me on Twitter (which you should!) you’d have seen this already – but I had not set my fire alarm off since moving in here…a 10 month run!! Ahh, well, as I said before all good things must come to an end. haha Sure – my fire alarm has gone off before – but only because it was haunted (or dust…I’ll go with haunted 😉 ) not because of any smoke in the air caused by moi.
What caused the alarm to go off? Well…you shall have to wait and see. 🙂

Let’s start with the morning. I was up early this morning – 5:56 am to be precise…without an alarm (ironic, now). I made myself my usual cup of coffee and camped out in front of the computer to continue work on a project that was due today. However, I may have checked blogs, e-mail, Facebook and Twitter before really settling into my project…

I worked throughout the morning, and then got myself together to go out to lunch with a friend who I hadn’t seen in forever!! We ended up at Stephanie’s on Newbury Street (a perfect day for a meal with a “view). For those of you not familiar with Boston – but familiar with celebrity gossip – I can equate Stephanie’s to one other restaurant – The Ivy in LA. It’s a see and be seen type of place – with an outdoor patio that is always filled.  Stephanie’s was good though – albeit a little expensive.

photo source

Unfortunately, I forgot my camera – I know! It’s not far from where I live, but there just wasn’t time to run back to get it. I got the Lump Crab BLT – which came with lump crab meat (it was delicious and sweet) in a tarragon mayo-type sauce, delicious bacon, avocado, lettuce and tomato all on toasted whole wheat bread which was so good. It also came with a pickle and potato chips..which I devoured. No shame.

It was a beautiful day and it was great catching up with my friend who I had not seen since the end of March – craziness!

I munched my way throughout the rest of the day and chatted with my best on good ole FB.

Lara x2 - woops - they are just so good

Now…dinner…and here is where the alarm comes into play. Silly olive oil and your smoke point! haha I was making lemon and garlic kale and the oil was too hot and set off the alarm – silliness! It wasn’t even hot enough to burn the garlic so I think my alarm is just sensitive. My alarm-free reign ended over a little olive oil. *sigh* Lame. I was hoping that it’d be an epic event. haha Either way the meal was delicious – I paired it with Jenna‘s baked beans – cold. They are really good cold.

I hope you all are wonderful and enjoying your week!! It’s supposed to get crummy – in the weather department- here over the next few days so I was happy to be able to be out and about and enjoy today.

10 thoughts on “Alarming

  1. Um, can I just say I love that coffee cup??

    I’ve set off the smoke alarm a few times cooking and I disabled it because I got annoyed. My fireman boyfriend doesn’t like that very much. Whoops.

    • Aww, thank you!! haha I disconnected it over finals because it kept beeping for no reason – not even low battery, and I didn’t have the time to actually take a look and fix it.

Leave a Reply

