Serenity Now!

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

It’s probably one of my favorite prayers, sayings…however you want to look at it.

Last night, I had to embrace that prayer like no other.

I wanted to post.

I had great pictures to post.

I had a great meal planned for dinner – that I could actually take photos of!

…and then in the MIDDLE of cooking dinner…the power in my entire building goes out.

Alarms beeping…pitch black hallways…some of the lights working, some not – and NStar just chillin outside my building in a man-hole.

At first, I thought I had done something…I had literally just pushed a button on my micrwave fan when suddenly it LURCHED to a halt and my fridge went out to. I called my landlord and our building maintenance because I seriously thought that I had done something.

Nope. haha

6:30 power went out.

11:05 it returned.

However, it was for those 5.5 hours or so that I really just had to keep telling myself – don’t worry about it, you can’t do anything about this.

My brother gave me the best advice. Go get some ice cream. And I did (well, yogurt). and it was glorious. (thank you JP Licks).

I’ll be honest, I didn’t do a very good job “accepting the things that I cannot change” – but it’s something to work on.

I just wanted to blog! haha

12 thoughts on “Serenity Now!

  1. I can totally relate to that feeling! I try taking deep breaths and looking at the bigger picture. It helps… when I remember to do it. 😉 Just found your blog, by the way, and I really like it!

  2. I was saying this prayer last night too, though for different reasons. For me, I usually am ok with “accepting the things that I cannot change” but have trouble with having “the courage to change the things I can”.

Leave a Reply

