Walnut Rosemary Quinoa

Hello, hello!!

Well – you all have heard my lovely “I couldn’t blog last night” story – so we’re going to mooove on down the road. haha

My guess?? 8:45 pm?

My hero (PB yogurt with oreooo) - oops didn't mean to make that rhyme

Crunch.Crunch.Crunch.

Okay – movin’ on…for real.

How are you all doin’??

Today was a rough morning…restless sleep. I scrambled to get my butt out the door by 8. However – though coffee took a backseat (til work, of course)…I did munch on a KIND Plus Passion-fruit Macadamia bar. Nom.

Lunch was Cosi – hummus and veggie. Yumm.

Dinner was something new. I had decided that when I got my camera back, I wanted to try something fun – however, my power decided for me that last night was not the night for this dish…about halfway through it. Luckily…it refrigerated well. haha

For a while now, I have had a box of Trader Joe’s red quinoa just sitting in my cabinet waiting to be used…and I decided it was the time.

In came a recipe for Walnut Rosemary Quinoa…I thought – why not?? Worst thing that happens is that it’s gross!

…it wasn’t. Oh no…delicious – though next time I might up some of the seasonings a bit…but it definitely hit the spot.

You toast the nuts in the oven and add them at the very end – it lends such a warm, toasty flavor to the dish (duh, Jil…they are warm and toasty). Also – I used dried rosemary, but it’s probably soo awesome with fresh and I left out the red bell pepper only because I didn’t have any. Oh – and I used more soy sauce…like a tablespoon or so.

Walnut Rosemary Quinoa (from YumYum.com – though I’ve seen it on various sites)

1 tbsp Sesame oil
1 small Onion
1 1/4c Quinoa, thoroughly rinsed
1 small Red bell pepper, diced
3 c Water
1 tsp Tamari soy sauce
1 tsp Fresh rosemary OR
1/2tsp Dried rosemary
1 c Fresh or frozen peas
1/2c Walnuts, chopped

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Heat oil in a saucepan and add onion and quinoa.
  • Saute over medium heat, stirring constantly for 3 minutes.
  • Add red bell pepper and saute an additional 2 minutes.
  • Add water, soy sauce and rosemary.
  • (If using fresh peas, add them now.)
  • Bring contents to a boil; cover and simmer 15 minutes.
  • Meanwhile, roast walnuts in 350 degree oven for 5 minutes.
  • When quinoa is cooked, turn off heat and mix in walnuts and frozen peas. Let set an additional 10 minutes and serve.

Next time I make it, I’m going to add more veggies and spice it up a bit. 🙂

Happy almost Friday – wooo!

11 thoughts on “Walnut Rosemary Quinoa

  1. That sounds so good! I love anything with quinoa! My mom has this amazing recipe for quinoa that she uses as stuffing for thanksgiving and it is absolutely amazing. I’ll have to post it as soon as I get back to the States!! But I’m def giving this a try! Thanks! – VIcky @ vdubb.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: Holy Guacamole « Peace, Love & Munchies

Leave a Reply

