Vacation, All I Ever Wanted

Heyy, heyy – I know, it’s been a while – however, I’ve been on a mini-vacation (the only kind I can really get nowadays!). It wasn’t just a vacation from blogging or the Internet, but a real, live one…complete with the beach. haha

I’m on my last day here and then it’s back to the real world. I’ve been coming here for my entire life, but it never ceases to make me sad to leave…and it’s – of course – always the most beautiful day when you have to head out!

I’ve indulged over vacation – after all…isn’t that what it’s for??

We went to a fabulous restaurant last night – The Green Monkey. It’s in Portsmouth, NH and was such a fun little place with great food and a really eclectic menu. We had a fabulous time, and our server, Ryan, was awesome.

Starters: Pork and apple wontons with a Thai chili dipping sauce and an orange and beet salad with goat cheese. Both were fantastic and we cleaned our plates.

I also had a grapefruit mojito martini – dangerous(ly good).


For my meal – I had the duck confit with cabbage and sweet onion/curry potatoes. Sooo good. If you’re not a vegetarian or vegan and you’ve never tried duck – do it. It’s just amazing.

We all indulged in dessert – because well…it’s vacation! haha

I had the crΓ¨me brΓ»lΓ©e. Never fails – such a good dessert.

The other desserts included:

Housemade strawberry sorbet with pistachio pralines.

A rhubard trife.

Brownie with vanilla ice cream and homemade toffee sauce.

It was great evening, and a great way to spend the last night my brother was up here – I hit the road this evening.

I hope you all are absolutely wonderful – and you’ll be happy to know that I’m making kale chips to accompany lunch. haha

  • Also – are you a stickler for health while on vacation? For me, especially when it’s only a few days – most nutritional concerns fly out the window. haha
6 thoughts on “Vacation, All I Ever Wanted

  1. Oh my gosh, all those desserts look absolutely fabulous. When I’m on vacation, I stick to healthy foods when I’m at breakfast and lunch, and then go all-out for dinner. We usually stick to simple restaurants for the first two meals of the day, so it makes sense to save the indulgence for amazing food! Hope you enjoy the end of your trip!

Leave a Reply

