Egg-cellent

Call them what you want mini egg cups, muffins, quiches, or frittatas…they are definitely one thing – yummy (and cute!).

Somehow food is just more fun in mini-form…

As I jump headfirst into my final year and as courses begin…and undoubtedly, staring at a semester-long syllabus will be overwhelming, I decided that is was necessary to make things in advance…prepare for the stress, if you will.

That was one thing I did not do well this summer, and I’m determined to have a stocked fridge  – and especially some little meals I can take on the run!

In comes this little egg cup – easy to make, flexible, stores well, and easy to take on the run! I originally made these way back in the day when South Beach was all the rage…but this time around a made a few tweaks just for fun.

These little muffins are filled with low-fat cheddar cheese, red onion, hot sauce, spinach, some plain Greek yogurt, and of course eggs. I used egg beaters…just because they were in my fridge.  Nothing revolutionary – but they will definitely be a lifesaver throughout the week.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup Egg Beaters (obviously, regular ole eggs can be used, too)
  • 1 Tbsp Non-fat plain Greek Yogurt ( my choice:  Chobani)
  • 1/4 cup minced onion
  • 3/4 cup chopped spinach (I used frozen – thawed and squeezed out excess liquid)
  • 1/4 cup  cheese of your choice (mine – cheddar)
  • 1 tsp hot sauce
  • salt, pepper to taste

Once mixed, I scooped the mixture into muffin tins lightly sprayed with oil. Mine made four with this … but it could easily do six…my muffin cups were pretty large.

Bake at 350°F for 20-25 minutes…and voila – easy breakfast on the go.

The thing I like most about this is the fact that it is so versatile…you could add meats, other veggies, seasonings…you know the drill! Obviously, this concept isn’t a revolutionary one – however, I hadn’t made these in years…soo good and so easy!

Hope you all are fabulous!!

3 thoughts on “Egg-cellent

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Egg-cellent « Peace, Love & Munchies -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

