My Main Man

Evening, loves. I’m so happy to see that some of you are still lurking out there. šŸ™‚

It has been a heck of a week, but it feels really good to be able to sit down and blog again.

First off, I want you to know there is a new man in my life…his name is Justin.

I know, I know…I’ve professed my love for him before – in Maple Almond form…but this is love rekindled.

Now – we all know that I love Nutella…I have no issue with it (in fact, I adore it!!), but… it is sweet. It’s a treat…however, Justin’s makes my hazelnut and chocolate addiction acceptable for everyday life. haha Yay!! Who else is in love with Justin’s? I’m okay with sharing this one. haha

In other news, my life has been a jumble of classes, homework, gym (Rumor has it that CJ from the Real World is a trainer at my gym? I’ll keep an eye out), and time out with friends. My meals have been pretty much leftovers of all the stuff you saw me making a week-or-so ago!

However, not tonight. The weather has cooled down…and with the cool weather comes my craving for warm, toasty, comforting food. Trader Joe’s Channa Masala boxes take up a good 1/3 of my freezer. I’d love to try and make it myself…anyone know if Whole Foods carries Amchur powder (Mango Powder)?

Anyway, tonight I carried on the tradition of comfort eats with an experiment…that both worked and didn’t work. You’ll see.

Now, I’ve been obsessed with Laughing Cow’s Blue Cheese wedges ever since they appeared in my grocery store…and Chobani is a staple in my fridge. I thought of combining the two, with milk and a little pepper to make a blue cheese sauce and baking rice in it (reminiscent of my Mom’s green rice)…in my mind – WIN!

The sauce came out great…it smelled sooo delicious.

1/4 cup of milk, 2 Tbsp Greek Yogurt, 1 wedge of LC, pepper

I poured it over brown rice and a little cheese, stirred and stuck in a 375 degree oven for about 30 min. Forgive the orange cheese…I wanted cheddar…and it’s all they had when I went!!

Texturally, it was exactly what I wanted – SUCCESS.

However, somewhere in the baking process all traces of the blue cheese flavor went missing! Definitely something I’ll fiddle with…because it was super easy and really satisfying (even with the missing blue cheese!). The sauce will just have to be stronger in flavor next time around!

I hope you all are wonderful!!!

5 thoughts on “My Main Man

  1. I love nutella and would love to try the Justin’s. Sounds so good.

    And I still haven’t been able to find those laughing cow blue cheese wedges. I need to find them. Im such a blue cheese lover.

Leave a Reply

