The Great Pumpkin

Those are three words that definitely set my heart a-flutter. Fall meant the onslaught of pumpkin and squash related posts…and though I was easily able to find myself a good butternut squash .. a can of pure pumpkin is a little tougher to find these days!

I’d struck out in my previous attempts to find pumpkin…Whole Foods was the most logical place to look….if it was going to be anywhere, it’d be at Whole Foods. However, the first few times I’d looked all that I could find was pumpkin pie filling – not.the.same. Boo.

However, as I perused the aisles of my local Whole Foods hoping to strike it rich on Friday morning…I won the pumpkin lotto. I didn’t hoard all the cans for myself, but I picked up a couple (share the wealth, right?)…and a pumpkin chocolate chip muffin for the road (uhhhmazing).

Though I’d been hunting for it, I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to do with it. It just sort of sat on my counter staring at me all of Friday. However, Saturday I had found my inspiration in my favorite pumpkin chip muffin.

Pumpkin Dark Chocolate Chunk Oats.

It was definitely an experiment..and at MANY points in the process (though it’s not like it is intensive or anything…it’s oats) I thought…”Oh, geez…this is gonna be gross.”

However, happily…it was anything but. In fact, it was downright delicious…and chock full of good (for you) stuff!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of water
  • 1/2 cup of old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1.25 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup of pure pumpkin
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • *sweeten to taste * I used Truvia…but agave, honey, etc. would be great,Β I’m sure
  • 1 Tbsp (15g) of mini dark chocolate chunks … 3/4 of them are swirled in and the rest reserved for the top.

After boiling the water and adding the oats for a little while, I added the vanilla extract. When my oats got to the consistency IΒ preferred, I stirred in the pumpkin, sweetener and cinnamon. I pulled it off the heat for a bit and then swirled in most of the chocolate chunks (immediate melting, yummm!). …the pour into a bowl, top with the rest of the chunks, [in my case, you then take pictures], and then enjoy!!

In my opinion, it doesn’t get much better than that!

Simple&Delicious.

9 thoughts on “The Great Pumpkin

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Great Pumpkin | Peace, Love & Munchies: My Healthy Comeback -- Topsy.com

    • Me too! I had no idea what I wanted to do with it at first, but I just had to buy some pumpkin after seeing it everywhere!

  2. Pingback: Fall is in the Air | Big City, Lil Kitchen

Leave a Reply

