Social Butterfly

I apologize for my blog absenteeism.

While I don’t have a note from the doctor (I still find it amusing that they want these from you in college), I do have – what I deem – as a credible excuse.

Partiiiies.

Okay, so they aren’t Four Loko (never had it, but it’s officially illegal in the state of Massachusetts now) fueled crazy benders, but they have been fabulous nights with friends that involved cooking, eating, catching up, meeting new people, some delicious beverage concoctions, some 90s inspired choreography (Genie in a Bottle, anyone?) and best of all, tons of laughter.

I found a pretty decent margarita mixer – not too sweet and cheap!!

We enjoyed ginormous chicken, pepper, refried bean and rice filled burritos. Delish.


Last night a few of my girlfriends came over, and we munched on chips, salsa, guac, cheesy artichoke dip, BBQ chicken pizza and ice cream. We may or may not have broken out Hanson’s Christmas music….and by may or may not…I mean, yes, we did. Too soon?

Unfortunately, as social as life has been lately, this weekend will involved a lot of quality time between me and my textbooks. Lots due, little time. haha However, I decided I needed to bake this morning, and I knew I had a mix (by Firenza) for pumpkin spice bread, given to me by my mom, that had been sitting in my pantry for the better part of a year now.

So I broke it out, read the instructions and then promptly bent the rules. haha

Pumpkin, applesauce and eggs. A solid foundation.

Wet ingredients all mixed.

With the mix added. I can only assume the spices include the traditional cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, and cloves.

Chopped up a mini-bar of Trader Joe's 72% Dark Chocolate.

Mixed, sprayed the pan, poured and into the oven @ 350.

Approximately 50 minutes later a knife came out clean.

Chocolaty, moist and delicious.

Chocolate-studded, moist and delicious.

I mean…you could let it cool, but literally I tore into this puppy within moments of it coming out of the oven. It just smelled too delicious. Plus, the apple sauce subtitution for the 1/2 cup of oil worked out perfectly!

  • Do you guys play with recipes? Make substitutions, additions or eliminations?

I hope everyone is having a fabulous weekend!

9 thoughts on “Social Butterfly

Leave a Reply

