Fish & a New Dish

Today has been productive, delicious, and full of new foods and meals!

The other day, I picked up some smoked salmon at the store – I couldn’t remember the last time I had it, but I really enjoy it – plus, it’s an easy way to do salmon without stinking up your kitchen! Today – smoked salmon was happening.

A delicious combo – cream cheese (this being a play on the smoked salmon bagel sandwich we did at one of my old jobs), a little bit of onion powder (I thought I had red onion in the fridge, but this was a nice substitute, but the fresh crunch would have been nice), and a slice of smoked salmon on a toasted tortilla! Some dried parsley was added just to make it look pretty.

I know, I know. Smoked salmon is definitely not everybody’s cup of tea – but it’s a winner in my book.

Okay, we’ve done the fish – now, onto the new dish.

I’ve been wanting to try out Angela‘s recipe for “Easy, Creamy Tomato Barley Risotto” ever since I saw the gorgeous photos on her site. Though, I’m not a vegan – and I de-veganized this recipe, it is absolutely delicious – lots of rich, tomato flavor.

Easy Creamy Tomato Barley Risotto (via Oh She Glows)

Adapted from Vegan Yum Yum Cookbook.

Yield: ~2 cups

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dry pot barleyΒ  (I didn’t have dry pot – so I used pearled)
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • 1.5 cups canned pureed/diced tomatoes (15 oz can)
  • 1 cup almond milk (or other milk)Β  (I used regular skim milk)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast (provides the cheesy/creamy taste)
  • 1/2 tbsp Miso, mixed with 1/2 tbsp water
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp kosher salt, to taste

Directions: Rinse pot barley in a strainer and place into medium sized pot that has a lid. Add olive oil, basil, and oregano and stir well until barley is coated with oil. Turn heat to medium until barley begins to sizzle.

Once the barley sizzles, add in the minced garlic and reduce heat to low-medium. Cook for 1 minute and then add in the tomatoes, milk, water, nutritional yeast, miso, and salt. Stir well and bring to a gentle boil and then cover and reduce heat to low.

Cook, covered (with a bit of air escaping) for 30-35 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes or so, being careful not to burn the barley on the bottom of the pot. (Mine ended up taking 40 – and they’re still a little al dente – perfect for future microwaving)

The mixture should be creamy, but not soupy, and the barley will be very chewy and not mushy. Serve immediately. Serves 4 side dishes and makes 2 cups worth.

Note: I read that it can take 2 hours to cook, but after just 35 minutes, I deemed it ready to eat. If you don’t want it as chewy you could always cook it longer.

The results??


Grains suspended in this delicious, thick tomato concoction- that is so, so good for you!

I will definitely this one make again – aaand on top of that, I think I want to try this technique with the tomato-base for Jenna‘s baked beans…I think it would be phenomenal!!


12 thoughts on “Fish & a New Dish

Leave a Reply

