Morning Routine

I’m absolutely beside myself that – *shock* *awe* – I’ve sort of become a morning person! Wait, what? If you told this to my parents (which – they may or may not read this anyway [Hi! *waves*] …I’m a dork) they would be shocked.

From elementary school through high school…getting me up and out the door…was…a challenge – to say the least. School – though, I was a great student and had plenty friends and activities that I loved – was not the place I wanted to go everyday. I don’t know where I did want to go…I think I just wanted to stay in my bed. Regardless, my parents pulled out every ploy of trying to get me out of bed – the echoes of “Good morning, sunshine! – Riiiiiiiise and shine!!” – my dad’s morning greeting (purposefully and jokingly sarcastic and overly cheery) still rings in my head. Now, it is more of a funny memory – at the time, I was like “Ahhh, nooooo!”

So how is it…that here I am – wiiiide awake and raring to go, on a day where I truly don’t have any places that I have to be? Maybe it’s like when you have to wake up at 4 a.m. for a flight, and somehow – your excitement obliterates the fact that your alarm jarred you out of a peaceful sleep. We’ll see how this goes once work and school starts up…

….but honestly, I like this!

Coffee certainly helps.

 

Somehow - I got grounds in my coffee

 

Maybe this was the missing link all those years?

LARA certainly helps out, too – especially in Peanut Butter Cookie form.

I don’t know what’s different – or if I’ll go back to cursing my alarm, and hitting the snooze more times than is advisable when I have places to be…..but for now – I really like this whole “morning person” thing…. I hope it sticks.

  • What about you? Are you a morning person?
12 thoughts on “Morning Routine

  1. haha this post made me laugh. I am one of those annoying people who have always loved mornings, and wake up annoyingly happy. at least according to my roomies anyway 😛

  2. I was the same exact way…all through school FORGET IT, I needed sirens to wake me up and get me out of bed (I read somewhere once that the average teenager needs 12 hours of sleep at night because their bodies are growing and changing at such a fast rate) but now that I’m an adult, I am up and at ’em first thing in the morning.

  3. Pingback: No Use… « Big City, Lil' Kitchen

Leave a Reply

