I Can’t Believe I Ate the Whole Thing

Okay…so technically that’s an old Alka Seltzer commercial – but truly, the only reason I remember it is this:

 

p.s. have you seen the "new" cartoon cover art for this book...pshh...not nearly as awkward or amazing. πŸ™‚

Beverly Cleary was one of my faves growing up….anyone else? Bev and Judy Blume made my little, bookworm world go ’round! (Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret. anyone?)

Anyway – that’s a little off-track.

So – this past weekend, I did a lil’ travelin’ (not much), and made my way up to my mom’s house in NH. I think I just needed some time out of the snow-jammed city. This also seemed to be the plan of about 90% of all other Bostonians because 93 North was JAMMED on Friday night. For any New Englanders out there, it took our bus 20+ minutes to get out of South Station, through the tunnel and over the Zakim…yeah. It’s supposed to only take 35 to get to NH. I knew I was in for a heck of a ride…and this was at 7pm.

One thing I know that I’ll always be treated with at my mom’s is Nutella. Ohh…soo…good.

Okay…so it might be slightly exaggerating to say that I ate the whole thing…..but I was pretty close, and well, I totally could have polished that sucker off with just a spoon.

When I saw this in the pantry, I just knew what I had to do with it first (okay,that’s a lie…I spoonful went straight to my grill first)….

Jenna’s Nutella Hot Chocolate. She posted it a few days ago, and it’d been calling to me since.

Easiest thing ever. Nutella + Milk + heat + whisking….taaadaaaa! I mean, it’s actually kind of dangerous how simple it is to make.

My original measurements were 1 Tbsp of Nutella to 8oz. of milk…I ended up adding a little more Nutella simply because I have a problem…. (admitting it is the first step, right?)

The end result was creamy, chocolate-hazelnut goodness. Perfect for starting off a weekend of (almost) completely unplugging…

Ahhh – perfection.

Now, if only we could make weekends longer….

  • P.S. My inner bookwork wants to know your favorite childhood reads!! Dish!
22 thoughts on “I Can’t Believe I Ate the Whole Thing

    • Ohhh – Boxcar Children, I had forgotten about them – LOVED THEM. My neighbor had a little old clubhouse in her backyard and we always would play “Boxcar Children”…with her little brother being forced (prooobably against his will) to play.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention I Can’t Believe I Ate the Whole Thing Β« Big City, Lil' Kitchen -- Topsy.com

  2. I love reading! Especially when I was little. My favorite books were Junie B. Jones, the Ramona books, Ralph S. Mouse, American Girl books and Babysitter’s Club! I think I read every. single. baby sitter club book to date!

Leave a Reply

