You’re Turning Violet, Violet!

 

click for source

Okay, so I may not be blowing up like a blueberry – buuuut I did receive a lovely blueberry treat in the mail from  Miss Leashie Loo!

What is happening, you ask?? Blueberry. Muffin. Lara.

I’ve been waiting to try this sucker, and this morning was the perfect opportunity. I was feeling lazy, I was craving carbs in a major way (umm, we’re not gonna talk about the multiple sandwich and/or bagel things consumed last night in the glow from my television…), and I was running late.

I don’t think I’d be finding a more perfect time for a bar.

I paired it with a nice hot cup of coffee….a mixture of the last bit of grounds of a free sample I received from Starbucks – their Natural Fusions Vanilla (which I really enjoyed and used up quickly!) and Archer Farms Cinnamon Vanilla Nut Coffee…and I figured they both were vanilla-y, and it was delish.

Okay – so let’s get down to business and talk about this blueberry bar! I assume some of you out there have tried it? I enjoyed it! ..I do have to say I haven’t met a Lara I didn’t like, but the fruit flavors have always come second to anything with peanut butter, chocolate or coconut (and any combination of the three). However, this is up there, and definitely one of my favorite fruit bars – to date (no pun intended, consider Laras are full of them)!

This bar also had a softer texture – which I really like. I’m not sure if that was a result of perhaps some squishing while in transit or if other people felt this way about the texture, too! It definitely lent itself to a more doughy consistency, which I found great.

This bar will definitely become a regular my ‘cookie jar’ – it’s good, filling aaaand has  fewer calories than all of my faves out there.

Plus, I love that it’s purple. 🙂 I’m a simple girl, really..haha

Thanks again to Alicia for sending it my way!

  • What are some of your fave new foods? What do you eat when you’re struggling to make it out the door on time?
12 thoughts on “You’re Turning Violet, Violet!

  1. hahhah so glad to hear someone who liked that flavor!! i havent heard anyone who liked it on blogworld so far! my go to foods are wraps with beans and hummus, nuts and fruit, fruit and nut butter AND larabars!

    • It was pretty good – I think when I wrote it I was still in the glow of a new flavor, and don’t get me wrong, I did like it – it could have been a bit more blueberry-y though…nothing that would keep me from purchasing again. Plus, I just really liked the texture.

  2. I’ve never tried a LaraBar before, but now I think I’m going to hunt for one at my grocery store! Right now I’m obsessed with Kashi’s Go Lean Crunch cereal. Top it with some frozen berries and a drizzle of honey… such a good dessert-snack. 🙂

  3. Purple is my favorite color!!! I have yet to try that larabar, but I want to so badly, I know I will love it! When I’m in a rush to get out the door, I usually make a huge filling smoothie and throw some oatmeal in the mix and drink it while I’m driving.

  4. I’ve never tried Lara bars before, but this looks good! I Love blueberries, so I’m sure this is a definite hit 🙂 On a related note, I’m a coffee addict and I love trying out new flavors. A couple of summers ago, I tried Dunkin Donut’s blueberry flavored iced coffee, and it was probably the most disgusting thing I’ve ever tasted. I almost gagged — it tasted like a blueberry muffin crumbled into weak-tasting coffee… I think I’ll be staying away from that flavor!!

    BTW, I just started reading your blog and it looks fun! I’ll be checking back regularly 🙂

    • Aww, first of all, thank you for reading!! I’ve heard that about the DD Blueberry – I’ve never tried, and probably never will! haha I’m a coffee addict as well…I’ll try anyyy flavor you throw at me! Oh and try their PB Cookie or PB & Chocolate Chip – those are handsdown my favorite Larabars!

Leave a Reply

