Outside the Box

Hello, hello my loves!

Today, I woke up craving eggs – and by today…I mean that I’ve been craving a specific egg dish for a while now, and I finally got around to purchasing the ingredients to prepare it! …so less than spontaneous breakfast eats but delicious ones.

This specific egg dish was the apple and brie omelette that I’d devoured at the Trident last month. It was delicious, and a combination I never would have thought of on my own. I’m glad that someone else was doing their thinking (cooking!) outside of the box…because I never would have come up with this!

The Trident’s omelette is soo, soo good; I really can’t say that enough – and I know that part of the reason was because it was swimming in butter and loads of cheese. I have nooo problem with that, both of butter and cheese are near and dear to my heart (but not necessarily the healthiest for it); so… if I want to eat this a bit more frequently …. perhaps I should modify, eh?

In came my ingredients – for one serving: 2 large eggs, about 1/4 of a granny smith apple, 1 oz. of Trader Joe’s goat’s milk brie, salt, pepper and some red pepper.

I kept the apples pretty chunky so that they would still have texture, even when cooked.

This brie is easily one of my fave Trader Joe’s finds.

It’s soft, creamy and tangy perfection. …this ^ is probably one of my favorite photos that I’ve ever taken.

Now…this was originally intended to be an omelette…however, my pan didn’t want to cooperate…so it become a scramble. No harm, no foul. Still delicious.

I added some reserved, uncooked apple and sliced it thinly to sprinkle on top. Great texture contrast.

Gooey goodness!

For a first run, this came out really well!

My only changes would be that next time, I’d cook the apples just a bit longer to get more moisture out of them, and I’d season the actual apples (just salt n pepper) to liven it up.

  • Would you say you cook outside of the [figurative] box??
  • Do you try to recreate restaurant faves at home??
10 thoughts on “Outside the Box

  1. That looks so delish! I’m trying to “cook more outside the box” but I lack a kitchen! It’s a scary situation living in graduate student housing šŸ˜‰ My fiance has a kitchen (praise the Lord!) and we do try to make restaurant faves from time to time. I recently tried to recreate Bonefish’s bang-bang shrimp – and it was pretty good!

Leave a Reply

