B.A.N.A.N.A.S.

There’s just something about being in the kitchen you grew up in that makes you want to roll up your sleeves and get messy!

Now, there’s clearly nothing wrong with my own teeny kitchen, I’ve dedicated a blog to it….

….but sometimes, it’s the kitchen that you remember baking Toll House chocolate chip cookies in, and sitting in front of the oven – watching them rise, and speaking to your reflection like you are Julia Child with a television audience….(I never said that I was a normal child…) that inspires you to break out the flour and sugar.

Today I woke up craving banana bread like crazy (the shizz is bananas – b.a.n.a.n.a.s.).

Only problem was that we didn’t have any bananas – let alone any of the overly ripe variety.

Madre to the rescue and within an hour we had not overly ripe, but still mashable bananas in the kitchen.

Donkey Kong and Diddy Kong were there, too. It was quiiiite the party.

I honestly cannot remember my mother’s recipe off the top of my head (and I’m not 100% sure she’d like me sharing it, either), but it’s similar to Martha’s. We use oil instead of butter, though.

Regardless, I think Martha would approve: This banana bread –  It’s a very good thing.

After mashing bananas, beating eggs, and folding in flour, etc….into the loaf pan it goes!

Oh…and with a sprinkling of a packet’s worth of raw sugar on top – it adds the perfect crunch. Plus…I just love raw sugar.


50 minutes later – the smells of childhood were wafting through the house.

My favorite part of banana bread is the crust – and how, especially with the raw sugar, when it is wrapped up for safekeeping (aka: Keep Jil out of the banana bread) eventually it becomes a little sticky, and creates this awesome contrast to the fluffy inside. That description isn’t even doing it justice. This is definitely bread that gets better as it sits though!

Plus, I love the speckled nature of banana bread.

The specks look almost purple in the photos! They’re still fairly light – though I’m sure they’ll get darker as it sits, and the bananas oxidize even more.

I love being home. Warm fuzzy feelings and full bellies. It doesn’t get much better than that!

  • Where do you get your cooking inspiration?
  • Are there certain places that you cook certain ways? I know that I rarely bake in my apartment, but at my mom’s I love to break out dessert recipes!
6 thoughts on “B.A.N.A.N.A.S.

Leave a Reply

