It’s a Date

Stuffed. Dates.

Glorious finger food.

A glorious, bite-size jewel of chocolate, peanut butter and date. Super simple -albeit slightly messy depending on the viscosity (or generosity) of your dollop of PB!

While, I have been making these – assembling should be the term, I guess – for a while now – I have yet to post on them! Again, I’m not sure of the origins of this little recipe, but I first saw it on Gabriela’s blog, and knew I had run to Trader Joe’s and pick up a big ol’ carton of Medjools and start assembling.

My assembly line goes like this: pit the date, stuff date with a few dark chocolate chips, cover the chocolate with PB (my new favorite is the chunky, salted Trader Joe’s kind!), and then of course…sprinkle with a few more bits of dark chocolate for good measure.

The result is absolute heaven – a sticky sweet treat that sticks to the roof of your mouth. It’s a small bite, but unbelievably satisfying.

I’m all ready to start experimenting with ‘stuffings’ – perhaps a nod to that raw chocolate, coconut cake is in order…simple and on a smaller scale?! 🙂

While it’s not an on-the-go treat, this is one I see having a long life in my kitchen.

  • What are some of your fave lil’ snackies?
10 thoughts on “It’s a Date

  1. Girl, you are killing me with these! They look amazing!!!! I love Dates with Peanut Butter and Chocolate! This reminds me of my Chocolate Date Vegan Cake that I spread with Peanut Butter. 🙂

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  2. Yuuuum. Stuffed medjools with peanut butter and chocolate (or carob chips) is the best! And trader joe’s chunky, salted is also amazing. Probably my fave pb…just had some of it with breakfast actually 🙂

Leave a Reply

