Back to Basics

Hi lovebugs!

Thanks so much for your comments and kind words in regard to my last post. Seems like a bunch of us are just in a funk. Darn winter. Sometimes, it seems to make everything just a bit better by getting stuff out there and off your chest, am I right?

Regardless, my funk is beginning to lift. I’m sitting here in my apartment, staring out at a beautiful blue (slightly cool, 40…but a high of 56) day. Spring has sprung in the city!!

Trees are begining to bloom around the city. This is one I saw on a walk yesterday here in Boston, but I’ve seen bigger and better buds all over the city! *happy dance!*

 

Plus, the Boston Marathon is taking place soon (April 18th!), so the city is prepping for that!! These people win most creative window box arrangements and landscaping. A serious win – pretty sure they did this last year as well.

My spirits are up – and now, I’m trying to get back to the basics when it comes to my eats. Less of the processed…and fewer cupcakes (wah, I do love them though)…and more creativity in my kitchen.

Sweet potato fries used to be a staple of my kitchen. I used to go through sweet potatoes like they were nuthin!! I need to get back to this…because they are just so darn good.

Slice ’em into matchsticks, spray them with olive oil, season and pop ’em in the oven at 400 for about 40 minutes.

Delicious.

I usually dunk them in ketchup, garlic mustard or honey mustard. Nom. What are your fave condiments??

Anyyyyway, my love for the sweet tater aside – excited for spring?!?!

xoxox

10 thoughts on “Back to Basics

  1. I love love love sweet potato fries! A local restaurant around here serves them with bourbon barbecue sauce and – get this – cinnamon marshmallow cream… it seriously is the best condiment ever! (and so easy too! the chef said it’s just a handful of marshmallows, a splash of cream, and a pinch of cinnamon – low and slow – and bam, you’ve got something awesome!)

Leave a Reply

