Merci, Merci

Yesterday was an amazing day.

At times it was stressful and overwhelming (the organization of graduation was a lil’ iffy), but at the end of it all it was an absolutely wonderful day.

It was great to see and hear from family and friends, and hug many who have meant so much to me during my time a SU.

Afterward, my family and I went out to dinner at this lovely restaurant in the North End, called Lucca. We had been there before for my dad’s birthday last year. Our meal was fantastic – I didn’t take pictures because we were downstairs and the lighting wasn’t terrific. However, I got the capesante – which was pan seared diver scallops with smoked bacon and spring pea risotto, Shimeji mushrooms and a lemon zest mascarpone, and it was phenomenal. The smoked bacon in the risotto was out-of-this-world good.

We stuffed our faces, opened cards, laughed at amazing notes from relatives (Uncle Jeff…I laughed so, soo hard when I read your note 🙂 ), and opened some presents.

Now, I’m not really too keen on posting my gifts all over this blog. I know that my family was really great to me, and while some out there may have more of less than I do, I’m well aware of how lucky I am – so gifts will remain anonymous. 🙂

Well… all but one. Mostly because it is priceless to me.

My grandfather aka my Poppy (Mom’s dad) is a great painter. I’ve watched him churn out landscapes for as long as I can remember, and I remember spending summers at the beach where he would just set up his easel on the patio and paint.

Part of my gift from him? An original painting of the Isles of Shoals which can be seen from my family’s beach house patio.


This one literally left me a little speechless (which is a miracle).

I also want to say thank you to you ALL. Anyone who has every stumbled upon, subscribed to, commented on or accidentally ended up at this blog. 🙂 You’ve all been a part of my journey here, too, and for that I am so, so thankful.

8 thoughts on “Merci, Merci

  1. Just found your blog….but congrats on graduating!!!! This past semester I studied abroad and I met a LOT of Suffolk people. I wonder if we know a few of the same people =)

Leave a Reply

