Doughie

For a while now, I’ve been admiring the awesome dough boy bowls on Kath‘s site. By admiring…I, of course, mean drooling over.

I’m all for feeling like I’m eating cake batter first thing in the AM! Breakfast of champions, obvvvv.

Actually this really is the breakfast of champions.

Kath‘s instructions are to assemble the ingredients, stir and leave them in the fridge overnight – then blend in the morning. I didn’t have that much foresight – sooo I just blended and let the finished product sit in my fridge for a little bit before shoving it in my face!

I was craving chocolate & coffee… sooo a mocha dough boy was born.

I combined in a blender:

  • 1/4 cup of rolled oats
  • 4 oz of non-fat plain Chobani
  • 1.5 tsp of chia seeds
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1 TBSP Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa
  • 1 tsp of instant coffee
  • 1/2 tsp of honey (and then added more Truvia for extra sweetness [I like it sweet!] at the end – I might just do more honey, period, next time) 
  • 2 oz skim milk (adjust amount of liquid for desired texture/thickness!)

Whiiiired away until it was all smooth – and then threw it in the fridge for 10 minutes.

Then – more to make it pretty than for actual flavor – I added some hazelnuts and some raspberry jam. I really liked the jam though. Nom. However – this is certainly not as pretty as the masterpieces of granola and nut butter that Kath puts together!

My new fave morning staple. No cooking and no brain freeze from trying to suck down a fruit smoothie too quickly! 🙂 Plus, this is super filling!!

Now to attempt a different variety of Kath’s Dough Boys – her Berry Cheesecake Dough Boy.

You had me at cheesecake.

6 thoughts on “Doughie

Leave a Reply

