Berry, Berry

Ahh, good morning, loves.

It’s been a crazy one here. I woke up to the sun pouring in through my windows, and in a matter of minutes (okay, lets say 30), the house had darkened, rumbles could be heard in the distance and the power was flashing. Never good.

Umm, *immediately runs to turn on the local news* – hiiii, weather guy, what’s up??

Turns out – Severe Thunderstorm warnings across most of Southern NH – with the possibility of high winds and hail. The “Stay Away from Windows” warning is never fun.  Eeee – I just wanted my breakfast!

As I tried to compile some oats, the thunder started to literally shake the house. Windows rattling = not cool. Now – okay, I normally actually love thunderstorms…but the fact that it was shaking the house – aaand the weather patterns in the US lately – had me a little on edge. It lasted for about 30 minutes, and though it’s still dark…no more thunder. For now. Eeeps!

Is it sad that I watched my cat to see what her reaction to it all was? I mean they say they can sense the stuff before it happens, right?…she was as cool as a cucumber – or maybe just lazy.

Probbbbably lazy.

Onto less crazy things.

I decided to take a stab at the berry-filled cheesecake-y dough boy that Kath had made not too long ago. I didn’t follow her exact recipe (didn’t have cottage cheese or chia seeds), but the idea was the same.

Go off Kath‘s if you make it – mostly because I am simply a mere mortal and she is an oats superwoman. 

I liked my version, but it wasn’t quiiiite right. However, it was still tasty, and very pretty! I think the difference for me was really in texture. My blender didn’t really get the oats blended, and I didn’t have any chia seeds – so I actually used a bit of cheesecake flavored instant pudding to get a better texture. Not quite the same, but it did add a nice flavor.

It ended up being kind of mousse-like – which is definitely not a bad thing. It was fruity, crunchy (I added PB granola), and it was pretty darn good.

Oh, and it did taste like cheesecake.  Win.

8 thoughts on “Berry, Berry

  1. LMAO at your cat. I think mine picks up on anxiety, so when there’s a big storm and I’m flipping out, she’s pacing and freaking out with me. Stay safe! And away from windows, eeks.

Leave a Reply

