Bad Weather Baking

Alright – so as probably every East Coast blogger has mentioned…Irene is on her way! The rain has started here, but nothing too terrible as of yet. I hope everyone in her path is somewhere safe!

Now, I know everyone is out there saying you need to get ready with extra water, cash, a full gas tank, important documents (although, I think tax returns go a little far). However, my hurricane “prep”… bad weather baking!

For some reason, crummy weather just inspires me to bake. Though, I’m not sure today’s kitchen adventures would be totally classified as baking…though it did involve an oven…and dough.

My treat of choice? Baked Cheesecake Wontons. Random. I know…but I had wonton wrappers hanging around so here we are.

So yeah…not technically challenging but baking nonetheless.

Essentially, this consisted of removing the wrappers from the packages, mixing up some room temp neufchatel cheese and some jam [nothing fancy, just until it “looked good”] – I added some Truvia to sweeten it slightly, but that step would depend on your jam’s sweetness and wrapping the wontons around some filling!

Basically, little sweet.. baked raviolis.

Bake at 375 until golden brown and enjoyyy.

These would also be awesome stuffed with Nutella, chocolate, just jam, PB…man, anything. haha

Making these again, I would use less filling per wrapper and I would totally toss them in cinnamon and sugar when they were hot out of the oven. Yummm.

  • What’re your go-to bad weather hobbies? You can almost always find me in the kitchen on a gross day. 🙂
4 thoughts on “Bad Weather Baking

    • Thanks, lovey! Irene seems to have missed us – we had a lot of rain and a little wind, but nothing terrible -, but who knows what else is coming our way. Fried with Nutella sounds absolutely amazing. Luckily, I don’t think we have Nutella in the house so I can’t go stuff my face right now. 🙂 Dangerous.

Leave a Reply

