Butternut, Babe

Hola, lovelies!

Today I became a runner!

This is how I imagine that I look..so obviously accurate. πŸ™‚ and click for source

[with walking at regular intervals…shh]Β 

Seriously, though, I had a great first day for my lil’ training. With pre-determined intervals of walking and running, I completed 2.1 miles and came away feeling great.

I think it was the first time in forrrever, that I haven’t cramped while running – my bod is notorious for side-stiches. Plus, though while my breathing wasn’t fantastic (my lungs just suck…I was in the hospital as a babe because of ’em), it wasn’t terrible (aka I didn’t feel like anyone I passed looked at me like: “Hey, whooo is that wheezing chick?”). #WIN!

It really pumped me up for the day – and I was phenomenally productive – which is always great.

One of my productive moments? Dinner.

Okay, so I’ve been craving butternut squash ravioli like crazy. I know it’s not really the season yet…but it’s been on my mind for the last few days now. Perhaps it’s those wonton wrappers that stare me in the face every, single time I open up the fridge.

Today I was determined to make them…and not fill them with tonnns of cream and cheese (though some cheese πŸ™‚ ).

So I simply played it by ear and soon I had Roasted Butternut Squash Ravioli in a Sage “Butter” Sauce. Happy Monday.

I first roasted the squash (salted them and used some spray oil) – 400 until they were brown and then lowered it to 375 so that they would cook through without burning. Not sure on time.

When the squash was done, I threw it in the food processor along with 3 (or 4, I can’t remember exactly) Tbsp of Part-Skim Ricotta, a half-teaspoon of cinnamon, and a little sage and salt, to taste.

I then spooned approximately 1.5 (pretty generous) teaspoons into each wonton skin. For the record this makes way more than just 10 wontons worth of filling. I plan on using it as a pizza “sauce” sometime soon.

Closed them with the help of just a little water.

Boiled them in salted water super quickly (these look so little time that I honestly can’t even guestimate). Then drained them and threw them into a sauce pan with some melted smart balance and a few sage leaves.

Let them soak up the goodness in there for a sec and then split it into two, super delicious servings.

These were gone in… mayyybe a minute (and that includes me gabbing about randomness). Soo good. These will be made again soon.Β 

  • What makes you super productive? I was surprised at how running really got the day rolling for me.
4 thoughts on “Butternut, Babe

Leave a Reply

