Spicyyy

Hello, hello, loves! It’s been a rainy Tuesday – but I’m not complaining. The rain has washed away a lot of the crud that has been in the air. Yesterday, my head was just overwhelmed by whatever was airborn and I spent most of the day on in the couch with a cold press over my eyes.

Allergies. Lame.

Luckily, today I woke up feeling fully refreshed and got my butt moving with week 2 of my running schedule. I had a great run – and it feels fantastic to be constantly challenging myself physically.

The few little raindrops that fell during my run were more than welcome.

Now, though the weather was dreary, my mind was on a particularly spunky little treat:

Jalapeno Poppers. 

Specifically, cream cheese poppers. Yum.

The only draw back of these little spicy nuggets is that they are usually fried LOADED with fat, calories… you know the drill.

I stumbled upon a Weight Watchers recipe for a more figure friendly version, and it didn’t take long for me to peruse my fridge and assemble my own popper recipe.

My recipe?

Filling (just mix ’em all thoroughly):

  • 1/4 cup neufchatel cheese, room temp
  • 2.5 tablespoons grated Parmesan/Romano blend
  • Cracked pepper to taste
Halve and take the seeds and veins out of 3 (that’s just the number I had) jalapenos. Fill the cavity of each pepper half with the cheese filling. Coat each stuffed pepper in egg white and then shake in a bag of crushed plain/non-sweet cereal (corn flakes, Total, Fiber One, etc).
Bake at 350 for 30-35 minutes, until bubbly and golden brown.
Dive in.
Dare I say that I like these better than the deep fried version? Truth.
2 thoughts on “Spicyyy

Leave a Reply

