High Turnover

Ahh – turnovers.

They are one dessert that really brings back memories of my grandmother and summers at the beach.

She would always show up to every family gathering with a huuge box, filled with delicious raspberry turnovers.

I remember peeking at them before dinner just to see how many she’d brought…to see how quickly I’d have to act to secure one for myself. …seriously, you had to have a gameplan..those things would be gone in seconds!

The other day I was suddenly hit with the desire to make some of those beauties…perhaps as a way to cling on to the last days of summer…or maybe to celebrate the fact that I can heat my oven to 400 degrees without fear of turning my house into a sauna.

Either way, I decided to make some apple-raspberry turnovers – a perfect combo of berries (in jam form) and tart apples. Mmm, mmm good.

All you need? A granny smith apple – diced, 2 Tbsp of raspberry jam, a little bit of lemon zest (my addition, optional)…and voila you have a pretty stellar turnover filling. I forgot to add the cornstarch…the filling was fine without it. Tuck the filling into 6 squares of rolled out puff pastry and you’ll be in heaven.

Seriously…so good.

400 degrees and twenty minutes later…

Perfection.

They’re light, fluffy, buttery, crispy, sweet and tart simultaneously.

Breakfast tomorrow?

Probably.

2 thoughts on “High Turnover

  1. Ooh, those look amazing. I swear, puff pastry makes everything 10x more amazing. I have some fruit hanging out in the fridge (but no puff pastry), I may have to make a ghettofied version of this!

Leave a Reply

