Fake ‘n Bake

Aaaand, I’m back [again].

Bring on the pumpkin.

I know, I know.

The blog world has been inundated with pumpkin recipes as of late.

…but I’m still adding one more to it. 🙂

Tis the season, right?

This past weekend was probably the perfect example of New England in the fall.

It was cool – but not cold. Most of the leaves had turned their autumn shades of gold, red and yellow – and there was a persistant breeze that swirled the fallen leaves all over the yard.

Oh, and it brought down a tree at 11:45 at night…fun.

I digress…

Needless to say, I was inspired to break out the mix(er) and make something pumpkin-y.

In came a lovely little mix that has been residing in my pantry for far too long:

Now – I know I’ve discussed this in the past…I love from-scratch baking…but I have absolutely nothing against a good mix. People don’t necessarily enjoy something more just because you slaved over a million and one ingredients, and spent an entire day in the kitchen (no matter how much you enjoy it).

Plus, like I was saying to Meg from A Dash of Meg on Twitter…a mix just shortens the time between whipping it together and being able to shove it into my face. 🙂

Pumpkin puree and eggs were added to the mix – and I added walnuts and dark chocolate chips. Dark Chocolate & Pumpkin are inseparable in my kitchen.

While this mix is actually a cake mix – I baked it like I would a banana bread…and it came out deeelicious. The ends were chewy and the bread itself was really moist and studded with all of those walnuts and chocolate chips.

Dessert bread perfection.

  • What are some of your favorite fake-outs and mixes??
8 thoughts on “Fake ‘n Bake

  1. I feel the same way – definitely nothing wrong with using mixes instead of baking from scratch! You’re right – it just cuts out all the extra steps! I always use brownie mix to make brownies since they always come out so nice and fudgy, and I never feel like melting the chocolate on the stove! Maybe one day I’ll try it, just because, but I know I’ll just go right back to using the brownie mix.

    And I recently used a box of yellow cake mix to try out a new recipe! I’m really picky about cakes – don’t really care for most of them – but I saw a recipe for wine cake that looked good. This was an easy way of trying out the recipe, rather than making it from scratch and getting all upset if it didn’t turn out well since that would have been more time consuming.

    And today, we’re going to try a carrot cake mix! Not the biggest fan of carrot cake, but this one looked really yummy on the box (Duncan Hines, same as the yellow cake). Coolest thing is that the carrots are not actually in the cake mix itself – it comes with a separate pouch of carrots and raisins that you add to the mix. I bet this cake is gonna taste fabulous!

    Anyways, I do love making some things from scratch (like cookies!), but sometimes it’s just nice to take some shortcuts.

    • I agree – definitely prefer a cake or bread mix over a cookie mix. There’s just something about cookies that screams from scratch. And that’s so smart – spend a few bucks on a mix to try out a recipe instead of utilizing more expensive ingredients!

  2. I’m not going to lie, I’m a big advocate of mixes because I rarely have time to make things from scratch. TJ’s truffle brownies and cake mix are my BFFs! And nice to see you back 🙂

Leave a Reply

