Keeping it Simple

Hi all! I know, I’ve been missing in action for quite some time now..

However, it’s a brand new year. While, I don’t think I’ll be that 3x a day blogger any time soon (or ever)…one of my resolutions is to keep up with my little corner of the Internet.

Nonono…this isn’t a post about resolutions. Been there. Done that..along with an inspiration board – which is now safely tucked away somewhere in the basement due to my current “in limbo” lifestyle. Essentially, my resolutions are still the same (and probably pretty clichΓ©)…

One new addition though is to “keep it simple.” Whether it be in my relationships with others, my relationship with myself, dealing with stress and struggles…or just organizing my crazy, crazy life…I think the mantra of “keep it simple” will go a long way.

Luckily…it applies perfectly to food, too…and today when I wanted something comforting and simple… my mom’s recipe for beer bread came to mind.

Beer + Bread = Win, Win.

The recipe is super easy…I mean who says that bread has to be difficult?

All you need is beer, flour, baking soda, salt and some sugar…and you’re in bread heaven.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup sugar (whatever your personal preference, I like a little sweetness)
  • 4.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1.5 tsp salt
  • 1 bottle of the beer of your choice (I love dark beer for this)

Directions:

  • Mix the dry ingredients together
  • Stir in the beer (it will get sticky!)
  • Transfer into a greased/floured bread ban
  • Bake at 350Β°F for 40-50 minutes.

The results?…a bread that had a super crunchy crust and is amazingly soft and pillowy inside.

How do I like it? Served warm and with a little bit of butter.

A perfect comfort food.

Leave a Reply

