Carrots & Cake

Almost four three, I swear I can count, months have passed without a single post from me…yikes!

Anyone out there still?? {echoes, echoes, echoes}

I’ve been seriously slacking in the kitchen. My main contributions have been opening the bag of frozen Alexia sweet potato fries or opening up a box of Trader Joe’s pizza, palak paneer or tikka masala.

C’est la vie.

Though, don’t get me wrong – all of those frozen goodies are delicious…but the whole “motivation” thing has been lacking.

Today I decided to get off my butt and get moving in the kitchen (and…the real catch… actually blog about it). Candice Kumai’s “Pretty Delicious” has pretty much become a staple in my kitchen since I bought it a year ago. FYI – her soups kick bootaay.

As I flipped through the book, I was looking for something that I hadn’t really tackled before… in came her Pineapple-Carrot Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting.Β Plus, I’m a sucker for frosting…I was definitely that kid that licked the frosting off of cake/cupcakes…left the cake behind and went back for seconds.

After a quick inventory of the kitchen, I had everything absolutely necessary – and dove right in.

I made ’em mini…if only for the opportunity to get more frosting into my mouth.

15 minutes later, they came out fluffy and golden brown.

I made the frosting (minus the orange juice/zest… didn’t have one!)…I just amped up the vanilla.

After they cooled (and I’ll be honest, I dunked one into the frosting … you know, you have to taste!), I experimented with the frosting… and ultimately ended up with this photogenic beauty.

Flufffay! These ended up being really delicious. The cake itself isn’t too sweet, which leaves lots and lots of room for frosting. πŸ™‚

My only thoughts for the future would be to play around with the nutmeg. I like the stuff (though, I think it’s one of those polarizing things – where you either like it or you absolutely hate it), but I think I would reduce the amount next time, just for my own personal taste…maybe 1/4 tsp.

Now, I’m off to go enjoy some frosting…err, I mean…cupcakes.

2 thoughts on “Carrots & Cake

Leave a Reply

